How else should we respond?

An in-law’s grandparents came to a family gathering. “You know about that pet-food poisoning? I bet the terrorists are behind it,” the woman said.

My grandmother was thoughtful. “You know, I never thought of that.” She turned to me. “What do you think?”

“What terrorists?” I asked, innocently.

“Oh here we go,” my grandfather said.

“No, I’m serious,” I said. “There are lots of terrorists and terrorist groups with lots of motives; I was just wondering who you were referring to.”

“The A-rabs,” my grandfather said, with a silent “clearly.”

“Oh, the towelheads,” I said trying to appear earnest.

No one even looked at me funny for saying that.

*

Later, the same woman referred to someone as a “colored man.”

My uncle asked, “What color was he?”

She kind of smirked. “Black.”

By the way, the man’s race had, as you probably have guessed, absolutely nothing to do with the story.

2 responses to “How else should we respond?

  1. whisky-tango-foxtrot

    im in ur petfood underminin ur civilisationz

  2. LOL touche Jemal

Leave a Reply

