Theoryheads

A conversation between a co-worker and me, slightly paraphrased.

“You’re applying to Brown?”

“Yes.”

“What program?”

Modern Culture and Media.”

“Oh, nice! My boyfriend has a degree from that program. You’re going to be a theoryhead.”

“I hope so. Ooh, do you want to have a theory night?? I started one back in my college town and was hoping to find some people for one here.”

“Yes! I would love to do a theory night.”

“Sweet. We can read Benjamin and Lacan and…” (Trails off dreamily.)

“Sounds good. But no Lacan. I am so done with Lacan. I know entirely too much about the mirror stage.”

“Fair enough, we don’t have to do Lacan.”

The other person nearby was probably like “Whaa…?”


Technorati tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

