Comedy as salvation

Last night, after French & Saunders‘ 2002 Christmas Special blew me away (literally—I was in pieces on the other side of the room), I took a shower and laughed at the memory of what I’d just experienced while the hot water assaulted my skin. I’d been really tired and stressed out, but now I laughed in the shower and was suddenly elevated.

Comedy is my salvation and has been since I discovered it as something I love and need and care for above all else when I was 17. It gives me hope, because no matter how bad things get, no matter how stressed out I get, no matter how I feel, no matter anything, life will always be beautiful because there will always be comedy, I will always be blown away, there will always be something to love.

Leave a Reply

