I love this paragraph

“I grew.
“I grew and stretched and raged around the room, filled the place with my fists and feet. I got my knees off the floor and walked. I hit the walls and clawed them. I broke through the clothes that were put on me. I wailed and cursed, hard words that came through the open window to me. I only stopped to swallow snot and any food that got in my way. My mother grew fat on the air that I left her. I slept where I fell.”

—Roddy Doyle, “A Star Called Henry” (yes, the same Roddy Doyle that wrote the Barrytown trilogy; woah)

Leave a Reply

