Guy Davis & Homegrown Art

Saw Guy Davis tonight as part of the AACW Blues Fest held at Antioch’s amphitheatre. The last time I saw him was also the first time, at the last Blues Fest I was at, which was also the first one, in 2002. I wasn’t in town for the other two, and was consistently bummed.

He said: “What I love about my music is that it’s homegrown. Anyone can do what I do, it’s just that I’ve been doing it longer than most people.”

I liked that. It’s what I love about his music, too. And I like the idea of the accessibility of art, the simplicity of it. It’s empowering to experience art that is so “DIY” you know you could make some, too. In its simplicity is beauty and the belief that everyone has something to contribute creatively to the world. In its simplicity is a connection you have with it, a connection so raw and basic and human it can’t really be described, except as unequivocally There.

Reminds me of something Henry Rollins said about the origins of punk in an episode of “Henry’s Film Corner” on IFC. I wish I could find the exact quote, but it was something along the lines of: What often made up for lack of skill was total dedication and passion for the music. (Please note I am not saying Guy Davis does not have skill! On the contrary!) That idea has always evoked in me such a sense of authenticity.

The search for authenticity… the topic for another post entirely.

Leave a Reply

