Theatres Are Random

Last year I stage-managed a show for Theater Et Al. I use the term stage-manage loosely. I was basically a glorified stage-hand, running a few cues during the show, maintaining the performance space, and other general pre- and post-show things.

Right now I’m working at Dixon Place, where I’m running full shows single-handedly several times a week, designing the tech, setting up rehearsal schedules, working with artists, maintaining the performance spaces, selling tickets, running the bar, doing office work, computer work… etc. My title is tech intern.

Theatres are random.

(Both places, by the way, I highly recommend checking out if you’re in the NYC area.)

Leave a Reply

