Carrot Top

As a redheaded child, I was constantly taunted with “Carrot Top”. I eventually figured out, wait, carrot tops are green! You know, the big leafy part. So that became my retort to the taunt.

Taunter: “Carrot Top!”
Me: “Carrot tops are GREEN!”
Taunter: “Er…”

Years later, here’s me in university. Doing a very inspired improv scene in a theatre class, I’m playing a character that’s arguing with another character, and it becomes a childlike, name-throwing, personal-attack fight.

My Scene Partner: “Carrot Top!”
Me: “Carrot tops are GREEN!”
My Scene Partner: (after but a moment’s thought) “Carrot Bottom!”

Leave a Reply

