The Comfort Of Recognizable Character Traits

Frances bought me a Guinness mug in Edinburgh. She and Paul, before giving it to me, thought that maybe it wasn’t big enough. You see, I always drink my tea out of soup bowls, because the mugs here (cups, really, as in cups-and-saucers) are entirely too wee.

It’s nice to be recognized for your specific, predictable, and memorable character traits. To have that known as a “Vee thing” is comforting somehow- it reminds me that I have social character and personality, that I am not invisible, that people think of me, that my quirks are noticed by others and not just by myself, that they are in other people’s minds what represent me, that they help to create in other people’s minds what is me. That I am human.

Leave a Reply

