Americans/ Politics/ Comfort

Paul asked me if I felt more at home, what with all the Americans who’d come in for this wedding.

To be honest, no, I had to say. Maybe because they were Midwestern.

One of the last nights they were here, however, they did prove comforting. After an intense political/cultural discussion that could have easily turned argument if I didn’t know how to shut my trap, I went to two of them in the other room and we talked about our sometimes frightening encounters with defensive, American-hating Scots. I vowed never to discuss anything even remotely political with anyone here ever again.

Leave a Reply

