Spalding Gray

Spalding Gray, 62, Actor and Monologuist, Is Confirmed Dead

I never did get to write to him. I wanted to tell him about how, days after my Autoperformance, I saw “Swimming To Cambodia” and it had a very similar set to my own, with clouds and maps, and how much in general I dug and identified with his style, from the basic set to the fiery monologues. And oh yea, the whole “Rhode Island WASP”-turned-New Yorker thing. (In my Autoperformance, which is largely about RI and Providence, I mention him as being one of the great things RI has produced.)

See also his obituary and a good editorial: Spalding Interrupted.

Leave a Reply

