Your Image

I imagine things
That never were
And never could be

I watch your hands
Your fingers running down a sheet of paper
And imagine other things

I watch your eyebrows
Trying to see beneath
But there is not enough time

I feel constricted
Restrained
Repressed
Around you

I sit politely and chat
About menial things
Absorb your sweet voice
Your laugh
Your eyes

But even my watching is restrained
For all I want to do
Is lean over
Slowly hold my fingertips
Over your arm

They hover for a moment
Come to a rest
Your skin shivers
As my fingers glide upward
I lean over
Come closer
Breathe you
Be you.

But I don’t
I remain still
Calm
Focused
And when you are gone
My thoughts
Thinking on their own
Try to convince me to do otherwise

Leave a Reply

